«UKIGUSA (the sky is as blue as a tragedy)»




$10 plus shipping and handling: OUT OF PRINT



«UKIGUSA (the sky is as blue as a tragedy is a composition for prepared vibraphone and two players. Composed in ten distinct parts—eight of which are realized by d’incise and Cyril Bondi on the accompanying CD-R—the piece incorporates sheets of aluminum, cardboard cups, Styrofoam, acacia beans, and other disparate objects and extended techniques in combination with the vibraphone to explore pitch, timbre, and the delicate interplay of materials. The result is by turns austere and lush, abstract and organic; it is also unfailingly beautiful. «UKIGUSA» is released in a limited edition of 100 archival CD-Rs, each of which is accompanied by the complete score; two sheets of origami paper, one of which carries the track listing and additional credits; and a hand-folded origami swan that bears the Suppedaneum logo.



 Ukigusa (the sky is as blue as a tragedy) is a piece on a shore, where one would hesitate between ground and water. If it can be seen as an instrumental piece, its roots are in a practice of collecting objects, finding pitches in them, manipulating them, looking for the materiality of the vibration and its capacity to propagate or interact with other objects. The instrument is turned again into a primitive artifact, resonating plates of metal activated by two people, four hands, or four bows.

In Ukigusa, one will find tonalities and harmonies that should be listened to for what they are, but which are also merely the context or the door for much more to happen on an intimate scale, small sonic architectures, a poetics of the decay, parasites, slowness, the lost sometime of control over things, and the distanciation between the gesture and its consequences. Beauty is not something to be ashamed of in this piece, nor is its melancholic mood.”



1.   I wonder if the boat will be late again (no. 2) [15:11]
2. Don’t leave anything behind (no.3) [10:01]
3. Just… hold… your… horses (no. 4) [6:50]

4. She sent me a postcard (no. 6) [8:24]

5. I’m not so sure now (no. 7) [12:36]

6. But I want you to remember me from time to time (no. 8) [9:22]

7. You’re all so quiet tonight (no. 9) [8:15]

8. He always left like that, with a heavy heart (no. 10) [7:03]


Performed by Cyril Bondi and d’incise.

Recorded in September 2016, Insub. Studio, Geneva, Switzerland.

With the support of the Foundations Nicati De-Luz and Henneberger-Mercier.

This is Suppedaneum no. 13.



d’incise (Geneva, 1983) is associated with no particular instrument, instead using whatever can be considered as such: software, recordings, objects, percussion, harmonium, and so on. He is interested in radicalism, reductionism, repetition, and conceptual approaches, assembling a specific set-up for each new occasion, whether in an improvised or composed context. He tends to focus on the smallest details of the elements with which he works and appreciates slowness and the obsessive exploration of simple processes. For many years, with Cyril Bondi, he has been responsible for the INSUB. label, orchetra, the Diatribes duo, and many other projects. In addition to his work with sound, he is a graphic designer. In recent years, he has composed pieces for various situations, including a sextet for the Vortex Ensemble, a solo for a modified guitar for Cristian Alvear, a double bass solo for Félicie Bazelaire, and a piece for any number of prepared snare drums and loudspeakers (ILHAS, released on Suppedaneum in 2014). These pieces combine attention to tuning, electroacoustic listening, and references to baroque or traditional music.


External links: d’incise (official site)


FullSizeRender (19)